The six levels of Spanish language proposed by the Instituto Cervantes are based on the Common European Framework of Reference for Language skills (CEFR). Each level represents a progression in language skills and allows for the evaluation of language proficiency. Below, we will describe each level, from A1 to C2, and provide an estimate of the time required to reach them.

A1 Level (Beginner)

A1 Level is the starting point for students who are new to Spanish. In this first of the six levels of Spanish, students learn the basics of the language, such as the alphabet, greetings, numbers, colors and basic expressions. Students can communicate inA1 . It is estimated that reaching level A1 can take about 2-3 months of regular study.



A2 Level (Basic)

At A2 level , students begin to develop broader Spanish skills. They can participate in conversations on familiar topics, describe personal experiences, express wishes and opinions, and understand more complex texts. Reaching level A2 can take approximately 6 to 9 months of continuous study, depending on the student’s dedication.

B1 Level (Intermediate)

Regarding B1 Level is an important milestone in learning Spanish. We can say that it is the intermediate point of the six levels of Spanish. Students can interact in everyday situations, express future plans, narrate past events, discuss topics of interest and understand longer texts. To reach level B1, it is estimated that a period of study of approximately 1-2 years is required, depending on the time and intensity devoted to learning.

B2 Level (Upper Intermediate)

In relation to B2 level, by this point students have a solid foundation of Spanish. They can participate in debates, express opinions and arguments, understand more complex discourse, read literary works and write coherent texts. Reaching level B2 can take 2 to 3 years of constant study and regular practice.

C1 Level (Advanced)

C1 Level represents advanced proficiency in Spanish. Students can communicate fluently and spontaneously, understand complex texts, analyze abstract ideas and participate in academic discussions. It is estimated that reaching level C1 requires 3 to 4 years of continuous study, accompanied by significant immersion in the language.

C2 Level (Mastery)

The last of the six levels of Spanish is C2 level. It is the highest level of proficiency in Spanish. Students are able to express themselves accurately and fluently in any context, understand very complex texts and participate in sophisticated discussions. Reaching level C2 can take several years of intensive study and complete immersion in the language. We can say that it is the closest level to native speakers.

At, we rely, of course, on the Instituto Cervantes curriculum. However, in our own curriculum we have introduced subdivisions for each level (A1+, A2+, B1+…). In this way, the student receives a more frequent evaluation and the organization of the contents is more flexible.

As you can see, the road to mastering the six levels of Spanish may seem long, but the first step is to start. At we help you with a free trial class.